Magic Lessons: The Prequel to Practical Magic (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Magic Lessons: The Prequel to Practical Magic Cover Image
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews

The origin story that every Practical Magic fan has been waiting for! Sarah Owens is the author of the family grimoire, the blue journal, and the infamous curse that haunts generations of Owens women. Born in England in the 1600s, Sarah's world is full of nature and magic, healing and helping others. It's also a world of carefully guarded secrets where most people are fearful, superstitious, and often violent; and certainly a woman who can read and write is not to be trusted. In "these dreadful times when a woman couldn't walk down the street without fear of being accused of misdoings," Sarah finds solace in the kindness and empathy of magic. She escapes England, first for the tropics, then to the New World, settling in Salem, where the tension in this Puritan settlement is just about to bubble over into something much more evil and dangerous. Fans of Alice Hoffman are already familiar with the legacy of Sarah Owens; her long-awaited history does not disappoint. Best enjoyed curled up under a cozy blanket with your familiar and a cup of chamomile tea. #Cottagecore

— Nicole


In an unforgettable novel that traces a centuries-old curse to its source, beloved author Alice Hoffman unveils the story of Maria Owens, accused of witchcraft in Salem, and matriarch of a line of the amazing Owens women and men featured in Practical Magic and The Rules of Magic.

Where does the story of the Owens bloodline begin? With Maria Owens, in the 1600s, when she’s abandoned in a snowy field in rural England as a baby. Under the care of Hannah Owens, Maria learns about the “Unnamed Arts.” Hannah recognizes that Maria has a gift and she teaches the girl all she knows. It is here that she learns her first important lesson: Always love someone who will love you back.

When Maria is abandoned by the man who has declared his love for her, she follows him to Salem, Massachusetts. Here she invokes the curse that will haunt her family. And it’s here that she learns the rules of magic and the lesson that she will carry with her for the rest of her life. Love is the only thing that matters.

Magic Lessons is a celebration of life and love and a showcase of Alice Hoffman’s masterful storytelling.

About the Author

Alice Hoffman is the author of more than thirty works of fiction, including The World That We KnewPractical MagicThe Rules of Magic, the Oprah’s Book Club selection Here on Earth,The Red GardenThe Dovekeepers,The Museum of Extraordinary ThingsThe Marriage of Opposites, and Faithful. She lives near Boston.­

Praise For…

“In Hoffman’s luminous prose, all characters, even the villains, are not only vividly, but also compassionately, rendered... Hoffman adeptly highlights that how one uses a talent, selflessly or selfishly, has a sweeping impact on many lives, meaning that one should always choose courage, and that love is the only answer.”Booklist

"Hoffman offers an eye-opening account of how single women were treated in the 17th century, particularly when their knowledge or intelligence was deemed threatening. [This] page-turning adventure is thoroughly enjoyable. Hoffman’s redemptive story of a fiercely independent woman adds an engrossing, worthwhile chapter to the series."Publisher's Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9781982108847
ISBN-10: 1982108843
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: October 6th, 2020
Pages: 416